The Wondrous World of Bike Accessories!

Happy Rainy Sunday,

Today, my plan was to plant my garden, but it’s ANOTHER rainy day so instead I’m online daydreaming about new bike accessories! There’s really a ridiculous amount of cool bike toys. Whenever I go into a bike store, I’m like a kid in a candy shop and typically I want to buy all the useless but prettiest baskets, lights, bells and whistles.

As mentioned in my last post, one imperative thing on my to-do list is to get a new front bike light. For the last three years, I had ‘Frog Lights’.

Knog Frog Bike Lights

Knog Frog Bike Lights

These lights are versatile and easily slip on to any bike (no wrenches or screwdrivers required) but I never felt super safe because they just weren’t quite bright enough. I think the company felt the same way because I can’t find these lights on their online store anymore. Since they are super easy to put on any bike, in any spot, at any time, I will still look into buying another Knog light, preferably one of those strobe lights … Knog Silicone Lights. I’ve been blinded by other cyclists super bright strobe lights, and I would kind of like to do the same. That’s safety.

Here’s some other cool / totally unnecessary / ridiculous bike accessories that are on my ‘please oh please’ wish list:

BIKE UMBRELLA

* Perfect for a day like today … and any day when the TTC is the most unappealing way to get around the city

Bike Umbrella!

iPOD BIKE SPEAKERS 

*you can’t have earphones in when you’re riding, so this iPod speaker is a great alternative. The water resistant speaker attaches to your bike frame, and the remote control mounts to your handlebar!

Bike iPod Speaker

BICYCLE WINE RACK

* totally unnecessary but perfect for a trip to Trinity Bellwoods to fit in and have a picnic with cheese

il_570xN.237659437

6 PACK HOLDER

* any alcohol related accessory seems pretty cool to me! remember to drive responsibly, so share the 6 pack with good friends!

Bells-and-whistles-20_square-lighter-300x300

What’s your favourite but totally unnecessary bike accessory?

Leave a Reply

