Why I think some biking parents are out of their minds

Something that has always bothered me are the number of parents who use bike trailers on busy downtown streets.

Is it just me or is this completely insane? While I’m sure those parents are good cyclists, I truly believe they’re putting their children at great risk.

With an average of 1,500 cyclist-vehicle collisions per year in Toronto, it’s fine to put yourself at this risk but why make your children so vulnerable? I really don’t think I even need to explain why I think it is so dangerous to use a child trailer on main streets.

Where do I think bike trailers belong?

  • biking in a park on a bike path
  • biking on country roads

Such as a scene like this – they look like good parents!

But please, if you are one of those parents that I believe are out of their minds, I want to hear from you! Let me know what I’m missing.

Also feel free to participate in the poll!

5 thoughts on “Why I think some biking parents are out of their minds

  1. SO CRAZY! Not to mention the fact that the 1500 collisions you mention doesn’t take into account the 300 or more bikes who get ‘door-ed’ every year! The Toronto police departement doesn’t consider those important enough to track.

  2. Those trailers scare the crap out of me. My husband went over a bump with ours a couple of years ago and it flipped over. Both kids were wearing helmets, but my older son reached out to brace himself and cut his finger to the bone. Seven stitches later, the bike trailer went to Value Village. We live on a very quiet suburban street … what if that had happened in a big city, or even on a slightly busier street?

    • Yikes! That sounds awful, Elizabeth. Sorry to hear about your son and his stitches. I completely agree with you, what if it happened on a busy street? Well, let’s not even think about that. Thanks for sharing your story.

  3. I think the bike seats mounted on the bike are even scarier because of the falling distance and the weight of the child being up so high must make it a bit tougher to balance, I think.

    I’m scared enough to ride on my own through the city that I’d definitely be too timid to take a child.

Leave a Reply

